Andreas Gursky

From 9 September, the Küppersmühle Museum will present around 60 photographs from four decades, starting with early works from the Ruhr region, which often served as a setting for Andreas Gursky during his studies with Bernd and Hilla Becher at the Düsseldorf Academy. The rest of the exhibition tour ranges from well-known iconographic works to new works in large format and provides a comprehensive introduction to the visual cosmos of the photo artist.

09 September 2021 until 30 January 2022
MKM Museum Küppersmühle for Modern Art, Duisburg

Andreas Gursky (*1955) is one of the most renowned contemporary photographers worldwide. His works have a special object language that critically addresses diverse social issues and current topics. His distanced and subjective view of everyday cultural phenomena, consumerism, globalisation, environment, climate, economy and politics makes him a unique observer of our time. Numerous details and structures of complex systems are revealed in his works and invite us to approach the “bigger picture” in the play of proximity and distance.

MKM director Walter Smerling curated the exhibition in close collaboration with Andreas Gursky. The artist has designed the retrospective explicitly for the location, with close references to the region.

_______

ACCOMPANYING PROGRAMME

KUMI – THE ART WEEK | every Wednesday | 3.00 p.m.

Every Wednesday, an art educator will guide you through the exhibition ANDREAS GURSKY. The tour is free of charge and limited to a number of 25 people. Registration is not required. Please note that proof of 3-G’s must be presented in order to participate in the tour. The first KUMI will take place on 22 September.

PUBLIC SUNDAY TOUR | every Sunday | 3.00 p.m.

Our public Sunday guided tour offers all visitors an exciting insight into the exhibition. The tour is free of charge and limited to a number of 25 people. Registration is not required. Please note that proof of 3-G’s must be presented in order to participate in the tour. The first Sunday tour will take place on 19 September.

_______

Registration at kasse@xn--kp-xka.vereda.de or directly at the box office at the MKM. Participation in an event requires proof of the 3-G rule “vaccinated, tested, recovered”. Please check for any daily changes to the applicable Corona protection regulations before your visit.

Organisation: We would like to thank the team at Atelier Gursky and Galerie Sprüth Magers for their cooperation. We would also like to express our sincere thanks to NATIONAL-BANK for their special support.
Eintritt: 6,00€ p.P. | Reduced 3,00€ p.P.
Katalog: On the occasion of the exhibition at the Museum der bildenden Kümste in Leipzig, the artist’s book “-2020. Andreas Gursky” was published. “–2020. Andreas Gursky”, artist’s book ed. by Andreas Gursky, 188 pages, 57 plates, hardcover with cloth binding and slipcase, 30 x 26,3 cm, ISBN 978-3-00-066711-4, a publication by Andreas Gursky, 1st edition 03/2021, 89 €

Photo gallery

Andreas Gursky

Das Museum Küppersmühle präsentiert ab dem 9. September rund 60 Fotografien aus vier Jahrzehnten, angefangen mit frühen Arbeiten aus dem Ruhrgebiet, das Andreas Gursky zur Zeit seines Studiums an der Düsseldorfer Akademie bei Bernd und Hilla Becher oftmals als Schauplatz diente. Der weitere Ausstellungsrundgang erstreckt sich über bekannte ikonografische Werke bis hin zu neuen Arbeiten im Großformat und führt umfassend in den Bildkosmos des Fotokünstlers ein.

09. September 2021 bis 30. Januar 2022
MKM Museum Küppersmühle für Moderne Kunst, Duisburg

Andreas Gursky (*1955) zählt zu den renommiertesten zeitgenössischen Fotografen weltweit. Seinen Arbeiten ist eine besondere Objektsprache zu eigen, die vielfältige gesellschaftliche Fragestellungen und aktuelle Themen kritisch aufgreift. Sein ebenso distanzierter wie subjektiver Blick auf Phänomene der Alltagskultur, auf Konsumerscheinungen, Globalisierung, Umwelt, Klima, Wirtschaft oder Politik macht ihn zu einem einzigartigen Beobachter unserer Zeit. Zahlreiche Details und Strukturen komplexer Systeme offenbaren sich in seinen Werken und laden ein, sich im Spiel von Nähe und Distanz dem „bigger picture“ zu nähern.

MKM-Direktor Walter Smerling hat die Ausstellung in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Andreas Gursky kuratiert. Der Künstler hat die Retrospektive explizit für den Ort gestaltet, mit engen Bezügen zur Region.

_______

BEGLEITPROGRAMM

KUMI – DER KUNSTMITTWOCH  | jeden Mittwoch | 15.00 Uhr

Jeden Mittwoch führt Sie ein*e Kunstvermittler*in durch die Ausstellung ANDREAS GURSKY. Die Führung ist kostenfrei und auf eine Anzahl von 25 Personen beschränkt. Eine Anmeldung wird nicht benötigt. Bitte beachten Sie, dass ein Nachweis der 3-G’s für eine Teilnahme an der Führung vorgelegt werden muss. Der erste KUMI findet am 22. September statt.

ÖFFENTLICHE SONNTAGSFÜHRUNG  | jeden Sonntag | 15.00 Uhr

Unsere öffentliche Sonntagsführung bietet allen Besucher*innen einen spannenden Einblick in die Ausstellung. Die Führung ist kostenfrei und auf eine Anzahl von 25 Personen beschränkt. Eine Anmeldung wird nicht benötigt. Bitte beachten Sie, dass ein Nachweis der 3-G’s für eine Teilnahme an der Führung vorgelegt werden muss. Die erste Sonntagsführung findet am 19. September statt.

_______

Anmeldung unter kasse@xn--kp-xka.vereda.de oder direkt an der Kasse im MKM. Die Teilnahme an einer Veranstaltung erfordert einen Nachweis der 3-G-Regel „geimpft, getestet, genesen“. Bitte informieren Sie sich vor Ihrem Besuch über etwaige tagesaktuelle Änderungen der geltenden Corona-Schutzbestimmungen.

Organisation: Für die Zusammenarbeit bedanken wir uns herzlich bei dem Team des Ateliers Gursky und der Galerie Sprüth Magers. Für die besondere Unterstützung danken wir außerdem herzlich der NATIONAL-BANK
Eintritt: 6,00€ p.P. | Ermäßigt 3,00€ p.P
Katalog: Aus Anlass der Ausstellung im Museum der bildenden Kümste in Leipzig ist das Künstlerbuch „–2020. Andreas Gursky“ erschienen. „–2020. Andreas Gursky“, Künstlerbuch hrsg. von Andreas Gursky, 188 Seiten, 57 Bildtafeln, Hardcover mit Leineneinband und Schuber, 30 x 26,3 cm, ISBN 978-3-00-066711-4, eine Publikation von Andreas Gursky, 1. Edition 03/2021, 89 €

Fotogalerie