Raimund Girke – Sound of Silence Retrospective

18 March until 26 June 2022

Raimund Girke – Sound of Silence
Retrospective

This year marks the 20th anniversary of the death of the painter Raimund Girke. To commemorate the occasion, the MKM Museum Küppersmühle will honor the artist with a wide-ranging exhibition showcasing an oeuvre spanning nearly 50 years and underlining his significant contribution to German painting after 1945.

Starting out exploring in gestural-informal abstraction, toward the end of the 1950s Raimund Girke moved on to develop nearly monochrome pictures. He narrowed down his palette to include only a few colors and handled them as apparitions of light, which he structured rhythmically in various ways, often to the extent of creating an optical irritation. Increasingly refining his brush stroke led Girke to finally abandon any form of painterly gesture in the 1960s. In applying an airbrush and using nearly exclusively white, he achieved an evenly homogenous distribution on the canvas. Work from this era is frequently structured either in a horizontal manner or in subtly patterned, barely discernible shadings and light-dark transitions. As such, they present a challenge to the viewer´s perception.

In 1963, Girke noted about these paintings:

“In my white paintings I don´t want to freeze the visual space, but, rather, want to lead the painting to a stage that enables unlimited spatial movement beyond the confines of the movement on the surface itself. To achieve this involves finely nuanced swelling and ebbing white. …White eludes any attempt at determination, it appears to be constantly expanding and changing. It is at once rest and movement, it is infinite and it deprives the picture of its material state.

(Quoted from: Raimund Girke – Texts 1960 – 1995, publication for the exhibition in Kunsthaus Zug, 1995)

In the early 1970s, the painter abandoned the air brush technique in favor of more strongly expressive gestures. In the pictures from this era, broad brush strokes dynamically burst out of their still often horizontally tiered order. Movement and depth enter the pictorial content; the surface itself becomes a light-dark phenomenon. Since the mid-1980s, Girke´s use of color pulsates within a broad spectrum of light, which now can also include earth tones and a deeply vibrant blue. Brush strokes are applied vigorously with or against each other or form a dynamic network /weave seemingly reaching beyond the picture format. Though the act, the process of painting remains clearly legible in the brush´s traces, thus effecting a surprising discrepancy within the spiritual and meditative resonance of these unbounded works beyond surface and space.

______________________________________

Raimund Girke (born October 28, 1930, in Heinzendorf, Lower Silesia, died June 12, 2002, in Cologne) studied at the Werkkunstschule Hannover from 1951 – 1952 and then, until 1956, at the Staatliche Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf as a student of Georg Meistermann. In 1959, he received the award of the city of Wolfsburg for painting, in 1962, the Kunstpreis der Jugend Baden Württemberg. From 1966 to 1971 Girke taught at the Werkkunstschule Hannover; from 1971 to 1996 he was a professor at the Hochschule der Künste Berlin. In 1977, he took part in the documenta 6 at Kassel and in 1995 received the Lovis Corinth award and in 2002 the Lower Saxonian state art prize.

Since the beginning of the 1980s, Raimund Girke had a studio in Cologne. In 1995/96, the Sprengel-Museum Hannover, von der Heydt-Museum Wuppertal, Saarlandmuseum Saarbrücken and Kunsthalle Nürnberg all presented a comprehensive retrospective of his oeuvre.

_______________________________________

ACCOMPANYING PROGRAMME

KUMI – THE ART WEEK | every Wednesday | 3.00 p.m.

Every Wednesday, an art educator will guide you through the Raimund Girke exhibition. The tour is free of charge and limited to a number of 20 people. A ticket for the temporary exhibition is required for participation. Pre-registration is not possible.

PUBLIC SUNDAY TOUR | every Sunday | 3.00 p.m.

Our public Sunday guided tour offers all visitors an exciting insight into the exhibition and the Ströher Collection. The tour is free of charge and limited to a number of 20 people. A ticket for the entire house is required for participation. Pre-registration is not possible.

KART MEETING – BEYOND WHITE – DIPPING INTO RAIMUND GIRKE’S PAINTINGS
each 29 April | 20 May | 17 June 6.00 p.m. to 8.30 p.m.

How do you immerse yourself in the cosmos of a picture that shows nothing? KUNSTtreffen is an event format that focuses on perception in the encounter with art. 1-2 works by the artist Raimund Girke are examined in detail. 20,00€ p.p. Tickets are available exclusively here.

_______

Please note current corona protection measures of the state of NRW.



Buy Tickets here.

Organisation: An exhibition of the Stiftung für Kunst und Kultur e.V. Bonn with the support of Evonik Industries AG
Eintritt: 6,00€ p.P. | discounted 3,00€ p.P.

Impressions of the opening

Raimund Girke – Klang der Stille. Retrospektive

In diesem Jahr jährt sich der Todestag des Malers Raimund Girke zum 20. Mal. Aus diesem Anlass widmet das MKM Museum Küppersmühle dem Künstler eine umfangreiche Ausstellung, die Werke aus fast 50 Schaffensjahren umfasst und seinen bedeutenden Beitrag zur deutschen Malerei nach 1945 würdigt.

18. März bis 26. Juni 2022

Raimund Girke – Klang der Stille
Retrospektive

In diesem Jahr jährt sich der Todestag des Malers Raimund Girke zum 20. Mal. Aus diesem Anlass widmet das MKM Museum Küppersmühle dem Künstler eine umfangreiche Ausstellung, die Werke aus fast 50 Schaffensjahren umfasst und seinen bedeutenden Beitrag zur deutschen Malerei nach 1945 würdigt.

Ausgehend von gestisch-informeller Abstraktion gelangte Raimund Girke gegen Ende der 1950er-Jahre zu beinahe monochromen Bildern. Er reduzierte seine Palette auf wenige Farben und thematisierte diese als Lichterscheinungen, die er auf verschiedene Weise bis hin zur optischen Irritation rhythmisch strukturierte. Die zunehmende Verfeinerung des Pinselduktus führte Girke schließlich in den 1960er-Jahren hin zum Verzicht auf jede Malgeste: Mit der Verwendung der Spritzpistole erreichte er eine gleichmäßig-homogene Verteilung seiner nun fast ausschließlich weißen Farbe. Die Bilder dieser Zeit sind oftmals horizontal gegliedert oder in kaum mehr differenziert wahrnehmbaren Abschattungen und Hell-Dunkel-Übergängen fein gerastert. Sie sind eine Herausforderung an die Wahrnehmung des Publikums.

1963 formulierte Girke über diese Werke:

„…Ich will in meinen weißen Bildern den Bildraum nicht fixieren, sondern das Bild in ein Stadium führen, das über die Bewegung in der Fläche hinaus die unbegrenzte räumliche Bewegung ermöglicht. Diese beruht auf dem feinnuancierten, an- und abschwellenden Weiß. …Das Weiß entzieht sich jeder Festlegung, es scheint sich ständig auszudehnen und zu verändern. Es ist Ruhe und Bewegung zugleich, ist grenzenlos und nimmt dem Bild seinen materiellen Zustand…

(aus: Raimund Girke – Texte 1960-1995 – Publikation zur Ausstellung im Kunsthaus Zug, 1995)

Zu Beginn der 1970er-Jahre verwarf der Maler die Spritztechnik wieder zugunsten einer ausdrucksstärkeren Gestik. In den Bildern dieser Zeit brechen breite Pinselstriche ihre eigene, weiterhin oft horizontal gestaffelte Ordnung dynamisch auf. Bewegung und Tiefe kommen in das Bildgeschehen, die Fläche wird zum Hell-Dunkel-Phänomen. Seit Mitte der 1980er-Jahre pulsiert Girkes Farbe in einem breiten Lichtspektrum, das nun auch Erdfarben oder tiefenwirksames Blau enthalten kann. Pinselstriche bewegen sich kraftvoll mit- und gegeneinander oder vernetzen sich in einem über das Bildformat hinausweisenden dynamischen Geflecht. Dabei ist das Malverfahren über die Pinselspuren immer deutlich ablesbar, was eine verblüffende Diskrepanz ergibt zu der spirituell-meditativen Wirkung dieser entgrenzten Werke jenseits von Fläche oder Raum.

______________________________________

Raimund Girke (geboren am 28. Oktober 1930 in Heinzendorf, Niederschlesien, gestorben am 12. Juni 2002 in Köln) studierte von 1951 bis 1952 an der Werkkunstschule Hannover und anschließend bis 1956 an der Staatlichen Kunstakademie in Düsseldorf bei Georg Meistermann. 1959 erhielt er den Preis der Stadt Wolfsburg für Malerei, 1962 den Kunstpreis der Jugend Baden-Württemberg. Von 1966 bis 1971 war Girke Dozent an der Werkkunstschule Hannover, von 1971 bis 1996 Professor an der Hochschule der Künste Berlin. 1977 nahm er an der documenta 6 in Kassel teil und erhielt 1995 den Lovis-Corinth-Preis, 2002 den niedersächsischen Kunstpreis.

Raimund Girke besaß seit Anfang der 1980er-Jahre ein Atelier in Köln. 1995/96 fand eine umfassende Retrospektive seines Werkes im Sprengel-Museum Hannover, Von der Heydt-Museum Wuppertal, Saarlandmuseum Saarbrücken und der Kunsthalle Nürnberg statt.

_______________________________________

BEGLEITPROGRAMM

KUMI – DER KUNSTMITTWOCH  | jeden Mittwoch | 15.00 Uhr

Jeden Mittwoch führt Sie ein*e Kunstvermittler*in durch die Ausstellung Raimund Girke. Die Führung ist kostenfrei und auf eine Anzahl von 20 Personen beschränkt. Zur Teilnahme wird ein Ticket für die Wechselausstellung benötigt. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht möglich.

ÖFFENTLICHE SONNTAGSFÜHRUNG  | jeden Sonntag | 15.00 Uhr

Unsere öffentliche Sonntagsführung bietet allen Besucher*innen einen spannenden Einblick in die Ausstellung sowie die Sammlung Ströher. Die Führung ist kostenfrei und auf eine Anzahl von 20 Personen beschränkt. Zur Teilnahme wird ein Ticket für das Gesamte Haus benötigt. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht möglich.

KUNSTTREFFEN – BEYOND WHITE – EINTAUCHEN IN DIE MALEREI VON RAIMUND GIRKE
jeweils am 29. April | 20. Mai | 17. Juni 18.00 Uhr bis 20.30 Uhr

Wie taucht man in den Kosmos eines Bildes ein, das nichts zeigt? KUNSTtreffen ist ein Veranstaltungsformat, welches die Wahrnehmung in der Begegnung mit Kunst in den Mittelpunkt rückt. Ausführlich betrachtet werden 1-2 Werke des Künstlers Raimund Girke. 20,00€ p.P. Tickets gibt es ausschließlich hier.

_______

Bitte beachten Sie aktuelle Corona-Schutzmaßnahmen des Landes NRW.



Tickets gibt es bereits hier.

Eindrücke der Eröffnung

Eintritt: 6,00€ p.P. | Ermäßigt 3,00€ p.P.
Organisation: Eine Ausstellung der Stiftung für Kunst und Kultur e.V. Bonn mit Unterstützung der Evonik Industries AG